What I’m Reading – Summer 2017

If you aren’t reading a good book, you’re doing summer wrong. Even my sister-in-law with four children five years old and under has found a little time for herself to get through a Nicholas Sparks book (NC, represent!). If you haven’t – no worries….we still have a month of good summer reading ahead of us. Interested in hearing what I have read and what is next on my list? I am happy to share!

If you’re into reading then watching…try Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. 

My roommate gifted me this novel back in March and I finally had a chance to read it during our trip to Thailand. I was hooked from the beginning to this relatable, witty book that tells the story of a couple of families with small children in a well-to-do Australian town. If you haven’t watched it yet – HBO did a series based on this story that has been a hit (it has Reese Witherspoon & Nicole Kidman, so how could it not be?) I can’t wait to start the series now that I have finished the book.

If you’re into a thriller like Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train…try Into the Water by Paula Hawkins. 

I am notorious for liking these “types” of books. Gone Girl? Check. Girl on the Train? Check. The Luckiest Girl Alive & Good Girl? Check. Other than the fact that this is the first mystery/thriller I have read in a while without “Girl” in the title, it is a unique story that had me going back and forth in my head on the ending like I was watching a tennis match. This book is not for the weak readers – it’s a lot to keep up with but once you get past the first 100 pages of weird, I was pretty hooked and ended up finishing it in less than 48 hours.

If you’re into a little history in a realistic story…try Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult. 

I am in the heat of this novel and I have to admit, it can sometimes be a little uncomfortable to read…in a good way. The story takes you through some history of the prejudiced America on a rollercoaster to find justice in a used-to-be unjustified divide between White & Black Americans. It has been claimed that this is Jodi Picoult’s “most important novel ever written” and the main character, Ruth, has you pulling for her from the beginning.

If you want to read along with me…try The Summer We Read Gatsby by Danielle Ganek.

This is next on my list of summer reads as it follows a story of two completely opposite half sisters who inherit a Hamptons cottage from their estranged aunt. Follow along with me starting in about two weeks. You can get this book starting at $0.15 on Amazon.

If you’re a recent grad who needs some direction…try Rich Bitch by Nicole Lapin. 

This is the most informative book I have ever read. I studied it front to back in detail multiple times after graduating from college back in 2015. Expert financial guru (and total girl boss), Nicole Lapin takes you through what to do, what not to do, and how to do it on everything from buying  a car to saving for retirement. She’s frank, hilarious, and talks you through finance in the most simplest of ways. I highly recommend the read for anyone in their early twenties. It makes a great graduation gift, too!

What are you reading this summer?

Leave a Reply

