New Experiences: The NC Train

I am currently sitting on the NC train making my way back home for the day. Despite the most recent announcement that “everyone needs to put their shoes back on” I am obsessed. When was the last time you had 3 hours to just sit and do whatever you want?

I don’t want you to get the wrong idea. It definitely isn’t luxury, but it’s simplicity at its finest. Two seater rows in an old car riding through parts of NC foreign to those so used to the monotony of our state roads.

IMG_0021.JPG

Its also an experience that forces me out of my comfort zone surrounded by new people, and unlike many others, I like situations like this. I’m not naive and I would be lying to say I wasn’t a little nervous to leave my car at the station or didn’t hold my bag a little closer waiting to board. You’re probably rolling your eyes at me but the stigma goes both ways.

Everyone else was looking at this white girl dressed in work attire and a statement necklace like “what the heck are you doing here?” I love this. Mostly because I like the challenge of breaking the stigma. Running off little sleep and a large latte: challenge accepted.

I made conversation with those in line questioning my decision to ride this machine. They were extremely responsive and receptive to showing me the ropes of just how the train worked. “Cary go right, you should sit in this car.” They also told me I was smart to take the train over the bus to which I’m embarrassed to admit didn’t even know was a thing.

Anyways I am rambling (large latte) but moral of the story is take the train. It’s a peaceful three hour hum you get to yourself. One I couldn’t help but share.

One thought on “New Experiences: The NC Train

  1. I like taking the train. It’s a great way to go from Cary to Charlotte to Panthers games. Nice when you don’t have to drive back and lots of Panthers fans on there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

