Winter Dinner: Sausage, White Bean & Kale Soup

I have never made homemade soup before but something about the chilly temps this week had be craving this comfort. The fact that I live with a soup connoisseur who had pre-printed multiple recipes she thought looked delicious pre-winter helped me narrow down which one to make. I landed on Rustic Tuscan-Style Sausage, White Bean, and Kale Soup.

soup-before-cheese

It was fairly easy to make from the get go. Two things I would change for next time? Since the grocery store was out of Italian sausage, I used chicken link sausage instead. I missed the spice of the italian pork sausage so don’t skimp out on that. The second mistake was not chopping the Kale enough – so make sure you slice finer ribbons than in mine.

Ingredients

Olive Oil

1 lb Italian Sweet Sausage, casing removed (I used a package of Italian Chicken sausage, just not the same)

1 Medium Onion

1 Large Potato, diced

Garlic

2 Bay Leaves (I used Thyme instead)

2 cans White Cannelloni Beans, drained and rinsed (I would recommend 3 cans)

2 Bunches of Kale, stems removed & chopped

52 oz Chicken Stock (this seemed like a lot to me, so I did two parts chicken stock to 1 part water to achieve the liquidity)

Salt & Pepper to taste

soup-in-pot

To Make:

  1. In a large pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add sausage and brown, stirring occasionally to break into smaller pieces for approximately 10 minutes.
  2. Add onion, potato & bay leaves to pot. Season generously with salt and pepper and cook until vegetables begin to soften, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes. Add garlic & beans and cook another 2-3 minutes. Add kale and cook until it becomes slightly wilted. Add chicken stock (and water if you’re like me!), season with salt and pepper and cover with pot lid.
  3. Bring soup to a boil then reduce heat and simmer for 45 minutes. Soup begins to thicken as potato starch releases into liquid.

 

I served with toast & added a slice of cheese on top of individual soup bowls for extra favor. The melted cheese with the savory soup was perfect. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

