How To: Meal Prep

It’s something my roommate and I have been doing since the day we started in the “real world.” Between my work and her school, we don’t have time for countless trips to the grocery during the week days. This is how we have become experts at the weekly Sunday grocery run.

1 Shop your Pantry

Take inventory of what you currently own and see if there is a meal you can make of it. For example, I noticed this week we had a couple of cans of black beans & corn and some ground turkey that had been frozen from the week before. Add romain lettuce & salsa to my list and you have the perfect recipe for lettuce tacos. Monday night prepped.

2 Try Something New

I always like to try at least one new meal each week to keep up the variety and cleanse the palette. Normally, I like to keep the recipes super easy unless I know one night will be an early, easy one at work (read: MAYBE once a quarter). This week, I took the leftover chicken sausage we had from a previous recipe and decided to add zucchini, pesto, tomatoes, and an onion to the list. Mix them all together and you have a killer zucchini pasta. Tuesday – check. For reference, last week’s was the Buddha Bowls.

3 Pick A Favorite

Another dinner category I like to tackle each week is the tried & true. This week, I picked up some Trader Joe’s falafel & pita, greek yogurt (to mix with taziki spices), cucumber, and will use some of the tomatoes leftover from Tuesday’s pasta. Wednesday night is done with Medetteranialn falafel sandwiches. Other staples include portobello pizzas, simple taco salads, and BBQ chicken (Pig Dust is the absolute best on any meat).

4 Plan Ahead With Leftovers

A couple of weeks ago my roommate turned one small packet of vegetable soup mix into enough soup to feed a whole College dormitory. We hate putting things to waste, so we gathered all the large tupperware we could find and froze what we didn’t eat for supper & the next day for lunch. That will be Thursday’s dinner if we don’t end up with last minute plans one night this week. I always like to plan for a meal that, if not eaten, will save for the next week. This can be done through freezing soups, casseroles, or meats.

5 Tackle Lunches

Which dinners you have planned for this week will be great leftover for lunch? This week it is pasta & tacos. The other days, I will need to account for in my grocery list. Insert: apples for apples & peanut butter (my favorite), bread for PB&Js, crackers & cheese, and some fruits & veggies to accompany them.

6 Think Breakfast

I like to choose a standard breakfast for the week weather it be smoothie supplies, oatmeal, cereal with a banana on top, or yogurt & granola. I normally pick one and roll with what is at home if I get tired of that weeks “feature.”

8 Add a Treat

Whether your treat be Reeses, a fun lunch drink, or dried mangos (try them – they are life changing) let this be what you look forward to finding at the grocery store.

7 Make Your List & Compile Your Menu

Making a list and a menu is crucial for sticking with the plan. Without a list I find myself mindlessly throwing goodies in my cart down every single aisle. Without a menu I find myself out to eat way too often throwing money down the drain with any intent of eating healthy for that week. Something about writing your plan down makes you want to stick with it.

8 Execute

This week’s list:

  • Romaine Lettuce Heads
  • Salsa
  • Zucchini (2 large)
  • Pesto
  • Heirloom Cherry Tomatoes
  • Onion
  • Frozen Flafel
  • Pita Bread
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Cucumber
  • Apples
  • Oranges
  • Sandwich Bread (frozen – so it lasts)
  • Cheese Cuts
  • Wheat Thins
  • Snap Peas
  • Bai Teas (my treat for the week – so delicious!)
  • Yogurt
  • Granola

 

2 thoughts on “How To: Meal Prep

Leave a Reply

