Callie’s Vegetable Gratin

Callie's CookbookLabor Day weekend is notorious for signifying the ending of summer. With that means the end of some of summer’s best vegetables. I couldn’t quite let it go without taking advantage of the delicious, colorful flavors of the warmer months. That is why I was immediately drawn to this summer vegetable gratin recipe in Callie’s Charleston Biscuits & Southern Traditions cookbook gifted to me this weekend by Hayden’s sweet parents.

The best part of the recipe? I had all the ingredients needed minus the veggies. While I typically prefer Farmer’s Market produce, Harris Teeter had to suffice on a holiday weekend Sunday night. The flavors of the summer squash, cauliflower, and zucchini were perfect; but I could totally see myself recreating this dish with fall vegetables come october – think: butternut squash, yellow onion and broccoli. Enjoy!Gratin Prep

Ingredients: 1 pint cherry tomatoes, 3/4 lb cauliflower (I used a small head), 3/4 lb yellow squash (I used 2 medium squash), 3/4 lb zucchini (I used 2 medium zucchini), 5 cloves of garlic, 1/4 cup olive oil, salt, pepper, parmesan cheese, 1 stick butter, 1 cup panic breadcrumbs (I recommend using more)

To Make:

  1. Gratin PlatedCombine chopped vegetables in a large bowl. Add olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, and parmesan cheese and mix well. While the recipe book recommends letting the bowl sit for a while, I went straight into cooking and it turned out perfectly.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees & butter gratin or casserole dish.
  3. Transfer vegetables into dish, top with the bread crumbs, drizzle with melted butter and sprinkle with more cheese.
  4. Bake 35-45 minutes – mine took about 40 minutes.

I really am going to miss summer’s tomatoes; but, with fall temps comes all things squash: acorn, spaghetti, and butternut – oh my!

3 thoughts on “Callie’s Vegetable Gratin

Leave a Reply

