Queen’s Feast: The Rundown

Charlotte Restaurant Week started last weekend and Im disappointed in myself I haven’t seriously started to think about it until now. Here is a quick & dirty on my top picks, what I want to try, and which ones I would avoid.

Top Picks

300 East ($30) was one of my first ever “nicer” restaurant experiences since moving to Charlotte. DO NOT GO IF YOU DONT PLAN ON GETTING THE BAKED MARINATED VERMONT GOAT CHEESE. It is life changing. You’re going to need extra pita.

300 East Goat Cheese

Fiamma ($35) is by far the best, most authentic Italian restaurants in North Carolina. Their gnocchi is second to none (debatably beating actual gnocchi from Italy). They also throw in some authentic Italian flair with the best sorbets between courses and end the night with house made Limoncello. #1 pick by far.

Kid Cashew ($30) should satisfy any locals who have claimed to try it all. Their lamb is banging & while Ive never had the trio dip before I would definitely take advantage of it on this menu.

CO ($35) if you’re looking for the best bang for your restaurant week buck. The menu includes two included cocktails. I highly recommend the Pad Thai!

Fahrenheit ($35) if you’re looking for a killer view. Personally, I think you’re paying more for the atmosphere than the food but hey, sometime’s thats all you need.

Fahrenheit

Pearlz Oyster Bar ($35) is one of my go-to’s in Charleston. While I haven’t had the chance to try Charlotte’s take on the restaurant, I love the customization of the dishes. You typically get to pick your catch, how you want it cooked, plus a sauce & side. I am all about some customization.

To Try

ROCKSALT ($35) something about being able to walk to get some fresh fish sounds like Rocksalt is calling my name.

Ilios Noche – Quail Corners ($30) [this location only] is where I will be heading this year. Hayden & I came across the restaurant randomly one lazy Saturday and to this day talk about how incredible & unique their food is. A cross between greek & italian might sound weird, but somehow it works wonders for the taste buds.

Nikko Japanese Restaurant & Sushi Bar ($30) qcyogi.foodie rated this as the best sushi in Charlotte. Whether its restaurant week or any time after, I am going to have to try this for myself.

Nikko

Red Rocks Cafe – SouthPark ($35) 4 words. Blue. Cheese. Filet. Medallions. I didn’t even have to throw in the mashed potatoes topped with “crispy fried onions” to make your mouth water.

The Capital Grille ($35) mostly because you’ll probably never get out of this restaurant with a better deal than a $35.00 meal. I hear every bite is worth the buck.

Mimosa Grill ($35) delivered during a wine tasting Hayden & I attended back in April. During our time, we had the pleasure of meeting the head chef and tasting some of this creations. Not only does Mimosa Grill plate artwork, it tastes just as good as it looks.

Mimosa Grill

To Avoid

Carolina Prime Restaurant & Steakhouse ($30) I consider it basic rule of thumb to avoid any “steakhouse” that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner…

Dressler’s – Metro ($35) I attended an etiquette dinner at Dressler’s and was slightly underwhelmed by the food quality from the bread to the last bite of dessert.

Mama Ricotta’s ($30) If you’re looking for Italian, spend the extra $5.00 and go to Fiamma. You won’t regret it.

Del Frisco’s Double Eagle Steak House ($35) BEWARE! all the good stuff is a supplemental charge.

Paco’s Tacos & Tequila ($30) Don’t get me wrong, I ADORE Paco’s. But you can get out of there for a lot less than $30.00 a person on any night by ordering off the regular menu.

Chima Brazilian Steakhouse ($35) I am not saying don’t go, I am just saying you need a lot of self control to not feel like a lard after leaving.

Honorable Mentions

While these don’t play in Queen’s Feast, it would be dangerous for my bank account if they did. If you’re looking for some of the best food in Charlotte, look no further than the below.

Good Food

Nolen Kitchen

Stagioni

Rooster’s

Soul Gastrolounge

What’s your Queen City Feast pick?

Leave a Reply

